Album of the Week: Live at Woodstock

Artist: Jimi Hendrix

Released: 1999

Originally Recorded: Woodstock Festival, Bethel, New York, August 18, 1969

This album contains the legendary guitar player in all of his glory. Hendrix plays to his heart’s content (see: “Woodstock Improvisation”) delivering an unforgettable performance that still shines to this day. Found on the album are not just incredible performances, but a look back into rock history as you can hear Hendrix discussing things with his band and also with the crowd.

The songs are deep averaging up to five minutes a piece which adds greatly to being able to hear Jimi go off on satisfying shredding moments. Also, the transitions between songs are done very well. For example, after playing one of the most gratifying versions of  “Star Spangled Banner,” Hendrix finds a way to leap right into “Purple Haze.” The results would cause Francis Scott Key himself to tear his shirt asunder in pure rock and roll rebellion.

The following songs are found on the album:

  1. Introduction
  2. Message To Love
  3. Hear My Train A Comin’
  4. Spanish Magic Castle
  5. Red House
  6. Lover Man
  7. Foxey Lady
  8. Jam Back At The House
  9. Izabella
  10. Fire
  11. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
  12. Star Spangled Banner
  13. Purple Haze
  14. Woodstock Inprovisation
  15. Villanova Junction
  16. Hey Joe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: